Fourteen Chargers Earn OCCAC All-Academic Honors

Fourteen Chargers Earn OCCAC All-Academic Honors

A total of fourteen student-athletes from Edison State Community College were named members of the Ohio Community College Athletic Conference (OCCAC) All-Academic team for Fall 2016. To qualify, a student-athlete must have completed at least 12 credit hours with a 3.30 GPA in the specific semester.

"It's impressive to see our student-athletes perform well on the court while also maintaining good grades in the classroom," said Nate Cole, Athletic Director at Edison State. "This achievement speaks volumes about the type of student-athletes we have at Edison State and I applaud their efforts." 

Four members of the Edison State women's volleyball team earned honors, including Teresa Hess of Coldwater (4.0 GPA), Erin Metz of Jackson Center (4.0 GPA), Denise Schwieterman of Coldwater (3.35 GPA), and Allison Watkins of Sidney (4.0 GPA). 

Earning honors from the men's basketball team are Zach Ledbetter of Vandalia (3.5 GPA) and Nick Thompson of Tipp City (3.7 GPA). 

Five members of the women's basketball team earned honors, including Carly Buzzard of Wapakoneta (4.0 GPA), Jessie Crowell of Covington (3.8 GPA), Courtney Esser of Anna (3.3 GPA), Sydney Miller of Huntsville (3.75 GPA), and Lauren Monnin of Versailles (3.5 GPA). 

José Adorno of Piqua (3.53 GPA), Andrew Collins of Huber Heights (4.0 GPA), and Nicholas Gray of Lewisburg (3.46 GPA) represent the baseball team in academic excellence.

Edison State Community College is one of nine participating members of the OCCAC. The college also competes in Region XII as a Division II member of the National Junior College Athletic Association (NJCAA) in men's baseball, men and women's basketball, and women's volleyball.