Twenty-Four Student-Athletes Named to OCCAC All-Academic Team

Twenty-Four Student-Athletes Named to OCCAC All-Academic Team

Twenty-four student-athletes from Edison State Community College have been named members of the Ohio Community College Athletic Conference (OCCAC) All-Academic Team for Spring 2018. To qualify, a student-athlete must have completed at least 12 credit hours with a 3.30 GPA in the specific semester. 

"Our student-athletes are doing exceptionally well both on the court and in the classroom," said Nate Cole, Athletic Director at Edison State. "This not only speaks to the quality of student-athletes we've been fortunate enough to recruit but also the coaching staff and Edison State staff and faculty who have worked with them along the way." 

Three members of the Edison State women's volleyball team earned honors, including Miranda Hickey (Jackson Center), Regan Williams (Lima), and Vanessa Winner (Jackson Center). 

Earning honors from the men's basketball team are Zach Haeseker (Germantown, Zach Ledbetter (Vandalia), Nick Thompson of (Tipp City), and Romello Yaqub (Troy). 

Six of the women's basketball team earned honors, including Jessie Crowell (Covington), Riley Culver (Wapakoneta), Holly Frey (Ft. Loramie), Kayla Tullis (St. Paris), Marin Reis (Dayton), Lauren Monnin (Versailles). 

Leamsi Bermudez (Patillas, Puerto Rico), Gustavo Bonilla (Juncos, Puerto Rico), Andrew Collins (Norwood), Jackson Hobbs (Sidney), and Jake Whisman (Centerville) represent the baseball team in academic excellence.

From the softball team, Cydney Adams (Union City), Emma Miller (Wapakoneta), Katlyn Riffell (Sidney), Lauren Baughn (Greenville), Lexi Romine (Enon), and Stephanie Scholl (Union City). 

Edison State Community College is one of nine participating members of the OCCAC. The college also competes in Region XII as a Division II member of the National Junior College Athletic Association (NJCAA) in men's baseball, men and women's basketball, and women's volleyball.